Fifa World Cup has a really long history. The first world cup took place back in 1930, and since then, a total of 21 World Cups have been played so far. However, only eight nations became successful in lifting the prestigious trophy of the Fifa World Cup. There are some nations like Brazil who managed to win the trophy on numerous occasions. Whereas, there are some countries that barely managed to win it one single time. Fifa World Cup\’s history saw the trophy going to only two continents so far. Below is the list of the 8 Countries that Won the Fifa World Cup

8: Spain (1 Title)


Spain is one of those nations that lifted the Fifa World Cup only one time. Their sole win came at the 2010 World Cup, where they defeated the Netherlands in the finals by 1-0. Andres Iniesta scored a goal for Spain in the extra time during the 116th minute to made Spain the champions. Interestingly, it was the only time when Spain made it past the quarterfinals of the tournament. 


7: England (1 Title)


England also managed to win the trophy of Fifa World Cup when they defeated West Germany by 4-2 back in the finals of the 1966 world cup. England was on fire that year. However, after that, the nation failed to leave an impact on the world as they didn\’t even qualify for the quarterfinals. However, it changed in 2018 where they made it to the semi-finals but lost against Croatia by 2-1. 

6: France (2 Titles)


France is the current defending champions as they won the 2018 Fifa World Cup. They defeated Croatia in the finals by 4-2 to lift the trophy for the second time. Before that, France managed to win the Fifa World Cup in 1998 as well. They defeated Brazil in the finals of the 1998 world cup by 3-0 to life their first-ever trophy. Now, it will be interesting to see whether they will be able to defend their titles at the 2022 Fifa World Cup or not. 

5: Uruguay (2 Titles)


Uruguay is the first-ever nation to win the Fifa World Cup. The nation lifted the prestigious title at the inaugural Fifa World Cup back in 1930. They defeated Argentina in the finals of the very first tournament by 4-2. Uruguay\’s second world cup victory came after a gap of twenty years back in 1950. This time they defeated Brazil by 2-1 to lift the trophy. Since then, Uruguay is yet to qualify for the finals in the world cup. 

4: Argentina (2 Times)


The next one on the list of the countries that won the Fifa World Cup is Argentina, with a total of two world cup titles. Argentina won its first title in 1978 by defeating the Netherlands with a score of 3-1. Interestingly in 1978 Argentina was hosting the world cup for the very first time. They didn\’t have to wait for very long for their second title as they won the trophy again back in 1986. Argentina defeated West Germany by 3-2 in the finals to life the Fifa World Cup\’s trophy for the second time. Since then, Argentine fans have been waiting for their nation to won the prestigious title again. 

3: Italy (4 Titles)


Italy has won the Fifa World Cup a total of four times. Their first world cup victory came in 1934, where they defeated Czechoslovakia by 2-1. Italy won the title in the next world cup as well. In the 1938 world cup finals, they defeated Hungary by 4-2 to became the first nation who lifted the trophy two times. Italy\’s third world cup title came after a long wait in 1982. This time they defeated Germany by 3-1 to secure the trophy. Italy\’s fourth most recent win came at the 2006 World Cup, where they won the trophies by scoring 5-3 in penalties. 

2: Germany (4 Titles)


Just like Italy, Germany also lifted the Fifa World Cup trophy four times. Their first victory came in 1954 where they defeated Hungary by 3-2 in the finals. They won their second title after 20 years in 1974. They defeated the Netherlands in the finals by 2-1. Germany lifted their third Fifa World Cup in 1990 by defeating Argentina in the finals. Germany\’s most recent victory came at the 2014 Fifa World Cup, where they defeated Argentina again to win the trophy for the fourth time. 

1: Brazil (5 Titles)


Brazil tops the list of the countries that won the Fifa World Cup most time. They dominated the tournament by winning the trophy for a record total of five times. Brazil lifted the trophy in 1958, 1962, 1970, 1994, and 2002. Their first two trophies came under the world cup winning legend Pele. Brazil defeated Italy two times in the world cup finals in 1970 and 1994. They defeated Germany in the 2002 Fifa World Cup final to win their fifth trophy. However, it has almost been 20 years since the most dominated team in the world cup history has lifted a prestigious title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *