ICC Announced Men\’s Tournament Schedule! India To Host Three Events, Champions Trophy Returns To Pakistan

On Tuesday, the International Cricket Council ICC announced the schedule and the host nations for the men\’s limited over tournaments that will take place between 2024 and 2031. A total of eight major tournaments will be played during the course of these seven years.

India will host three major ICC tournaments, and Pakistan will get a chance to host another ICC event after almost two decades. Meanwhile, some countries will be hosting a major ICC tournament for the very first time. Most of the tournaments will be co-hosted by several nations.

World Cup Hosting Nations

The journey of these tournaments will begin with the 2024 ICC T20 World Cup. It is the very first time that the USA will be holding any ICC event. The debutant nation will host this tournament alongside West Indies, who last hosted this tournament back in 2010.

Eight months after this tournament in February 2025, Pakistan will host the ICC Champions Trophy. Any major ICC tournament hasn\’t been hosted in Pakistan since 1996. Therefore, the Champions Trophy will mark the return of ICC tournaments to Pakistan after a long gap of 29 years.

The 2011 World Cup Finalists, India and Sri Lanka, will host the 2026 Men\’s T20 World Cup in February 2026. After that, in October 2027, Namibia will host its first major ICC tournament. They will host the Men\’s Cricket World Cup tournament alongside Zimbabwe and South Africa.

Twelve months after the Men\’s Cricket World Cup 2027, the 2021 T20 World Cup finalists, Australia and New Zealand, will host the ICC T20 World in October 2028.

ICC Men\’s Champions Trophy will finally return to India a year after the 2028 T20 World Cup. India will host the champion nations for the tournament in October 2029.

In 2030, the nation that invented Cricket, England, will host ICC T20 World Cup alongside Scotland and Ireland. Scotland and Ireland will be hosting a major global cricket event after more than three decades.

Last but not least, the Men\’s Cricket World Cup will return to India after two decades in 2031. Two-time World Cup-winning nation will share the hosting duties with its neighbor nation Bangladesh in October 2031.

ICC Tournament Schedule

West Indies & USAJune 2024ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
PakistanFebruary 2025ICC Men’s Champion Trophy
India & Sri LankaFebruary 2026ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
South Africa, Zimbabwe, & NamibiaOctober/November 2027ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup
Australia & New ZealandOctober 2028ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
IndiaOctober 2029ICC Men’s Champion Trophy
England, Ireland & ScotlandJune 2030ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
India & BangladeshOctober/November 2031ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *